Volg ons op facebook.Follow us on twitter

EN

 
‘Excellence in Wine’

Matthys Wijnimport  

In the early 90s, the Belgian wine market was extremely one-dimensional.  A classic French wine offer without vision was on offer.  Frank Matthys started his wine import business in 1993, with the ambition to open up the national market.  After many trips abroad, the conclusion was crystal clear.  Skilled winemakers with a drive for refinement and individuality can be found in every corner of the World.

After his Masters degrees in Business and Marketing (Vlekho – Brussels and Vlerick School for Management – Ghent), Frank had acquired a lot of sales and marketing experience.  On top of that, he succeeded in 2001 for the best wine education programme called ‘Wereldwijnmeester’ (World wine master) at Syntra-West.  He travels the World on a permanent basis, in search of those wineries that make a difference.  He speaks six languages which helps a lot in contacting winemakers in faraway areas.

Wine connoisseurs were initially quite critical towards the New World wines, but they have changed their minds in the meantime, convinced of that broader vision.  Frank continues to be a trendsetter, looking for the rising stars in the fine wine scene.

Matthys Wijnimport makes a point in selecting often smaller wineries with a maximum of respect for the environment.  Due to their smaller scale, they have limited commercial and marketing resources.  Their excellent nature wines do deserve the greatest attention and consumption of those wines are beneficial for your health.

The following items are respected when selecting new wines.  Those criteria have remained unchanged since the start of the company:

Finesse and balance are essential

Oak ageing only when it gives an extra dimension to the complexity of the wine

Moderate alcohol levels which are in harmony with the wine

Low or medium extraction

Integrity of the vigneron

Consistency of the full range of wines

A high rating in the influential anglo-saxon press is not a guarantee for selection

No label blindness

We invite you to go through this website that offers you a maximum of information.  You are welcome in our wine shop in Bruges but online ordering is possible as well.

Espana wine
Espana wine
Espana wine

Volg ons op facebook.Follow us on twitter

 
‘Excellence in Wine’

Matthys Wijnimport  

Au début des années ’90, le négoce de vin en Belgique était complètement sclérosé.  Il y avait une offre classique de vins français, mais sans vision.  Frank Matthys a fondé sa société d’importation de vins en 1993, avec l’ambition d’ouvrir le marché national avec des vins d’origine non Française.  Après plusieurs voyages à l’étranger, sa conclusion était très claire.  Il y a des vignerons talentueux partout, produisant des vins avec finesse et individualité.

Après ses études (Vlekho à Bruxelles et Vlerick School for Management à Gand), Frank a acquis une large expérience en commerce et marketing.  En 2001, il a passé son examen de ‘Wereldwijnmeester’,-un programme de deux ans avec une excellente réputation-, avec distinction auprès de Syntra-West.  Il voyage le monde en permanence, toujours à la recherche de ce domaine qui fait la différence.  Le contact avec des vignerons est facilité par le fait qu’il parle six langues.

Les connaisseurs de vin qui étaient réticents au début vis-à-vis des vins du Nouveau Monde, sont maintenant convaincus de cette vision ouverte.  Avec une volonté d’anticipation, Frank continue à chercher les vignerons des vins fins qui ont l’ambition de faire toujours mieux.

Matthys Wijnimport fait également la différence en sélectionnant des domaines qui ont un grand respect pour l’environnement.  Par leur échelle relativement petite, ils ont moins de force commerciale et marketing.  Ces vins excellents méritent toute attention et en plus votre santé en bénéficie.

Lors de la sélection de la gamme, nous respectons plusieurs critères, qui n’ont jamais changé depuis le début de la société:

Finesse et équilibre sont essentiels

Vieillissement en fut de chęne uniquement lorsque la complexité en gagne

Niveau d'alcool modéré et en harmonie avec le vin

Extraction basse ou modérée

Intégrité du vigneron

Consistence de qualité de la gamme entičre

Un score haut (surtout dans la presse anglo-saxonne) n'est pas une garantie pour ętre sélectionné

La réputation de l'appellation n'est jamais primordiale

Vous pouvez flaner à votre aise à travers ce site qui vous offre un maximum d’information.  Vous êtes la bienvenue dans notre magasin à Bruges, mais commander via ce site est également possible.

Espana wine
Espana wine
Espana wine